Warmer Weather Means Washing Wool

For me, warmer weather means it’s time to start washing and dying wool and other fibers.  It’s not quite yet consistent enough to break out the wash gear and the fleeces (although it’s getting there).  But, I was itching to get to the drum carder, so I did the next best thing and pulled out what I had on hand already.   Although my stash is very limited right now I did put together a few fibers.

wool, alpaca, silk, and nylon fibers

wool, alpaca, silk, and nylon fibers

As they went round and round on the drum carder I started to see this:

on the carding cloth

on the carding cloth

I pulled off the batt after the first run through and decided to blend it more.

after the first carding pass

after the first carding pass

So I split the batt into pieces and ran it through again then dizzed off into roving form.

roving

roving

I ended up with 3 ounces of light, airy, yummy goodness ready to go.  Stay tuned to see how it spins up.

Leave a Reply

