The Desires of Our Hearts…

God’s word says, “Take delight in the Lord, and He will give you the desires of your heart.” Psalm 37:4.  Ahhhhh, yay I get whatever I want, right?  Quite frankly, that is the attitude I take on often.  Yup, if I am just a good girl and pray and read my bible, then God will give me whatever my little ole heart desires.  BUZZZZZZZ…..wrong answer. It seems like time and time again, the things that I think I want don’t come to fruition and I get all bummed out and jealous of those who have want I want.  How many times do I have to cry out about my desire to have a baby?  Yes, I have children and I love them.  But, I’ve never had a BABY!  Every time I thought we were close, either I’d miscarry or the adoption would fall through.  I’d really like to make a decent living doing what I love; weaving.  But I don’t. I really want a garden and some fibery animals, but things keep happening from making this desire a reality.  So, does that mean God’s word isn’t true?  Absolutely not.  Read the following

1 Do not fret because of those who are evil

or be envious of those who do wrong;

2 for like the grass they will soon wither,
like green plants they will soon die away.

3 Trust in the LORD and do good;
dwell in the land and enjoy safe pasture.
4 Take delight in the LORD,
and he will give you the desires of your heart.

5 Commit your way to the LORD;
trust in him and he will do this:
6 He will make your righteous reward shine like the dawn,
your vindication like the noonday sun.

7 Be still before the LORD
and wait patiently for him;
do not fret when people succeed in their ways,
when they carry out their wicked schemes.

Psalm 37:1-7

Trust in, wait for, and take delight in the Lord.  Very key words.  Sometimes the answer is going to be no and sometimes the answer is going to be not right now.

You see, I don’t have a baby and probably never will.  I realize that.  However, if I stop and think about it, if I would have had the baby I so desired, then we wouldn’t have adopted 5 children, wouldn’t have fostered 22 children, and we wouldn’t have fulfilled God’s plan for our family.  How being a part of those children’s lives has made my heart sing.  If I made a living off of weaving, then I wouldn’t have had time to weave the prayer shawls that I have woven over the years.  I, and the recipients, would have missed God’s blessing  in that.  And what a joy it has been to my soul.  I still want a garden and fibery animals and a farm, but God, I believe is saying the following to me. “Not right now.  I have other plans and other work for you to do and it may be somewhere else then where you want to be.  But trust me, be patient with me, delight in just me and I will give you the desires of your heart.”

I am learning that what I think might be the desire of my heart really isn’t.  The true delight of my heart is to please God.  To walk in His ways. To make Him happy.  To worship Him.  To love Him.  TO SERVE HIM.  I think what starts out as the desire of our heart changes over time to conform to His plan.

I don’t know where that leaves me for tomorrow other then continuing to learn to trust, obey, follow, and be patient.

One response

  1. I really like this post. Found myself nodding yes as I read. So often I am sure of what I want and don’t get it.. Yet looking back I see that I actually did get it but not in the way I expected or that it just wasn’t the right time for me. As for making a living doing what I love to do. Sometimes my talents are needed for something more important than earning money.

    I just finished making a cute coiled basket. I used to make these and sell them and in the past I’d be thinking that I could make many and sell them easily. But I made this as a sample for a workshop I’ll be teaching and enjoyed the process. I’m using yarn from the monastery which supports them and I’ll be either donating this little basket back for a specific use or using it for my Wednesday group to add in prayer requests or other thoughts. I loved the process of making the basket and not having to be in a hurry to finish it, grateful for the sheep that donated the wool and those that tenderly care for those sheep.

Leave a Reply

