On A Roll With My Breads

Twice a week I make bread for our family.  This is the bread we use with meals, for sandwiches, or whatever.  I use the same basic recipe but try to liven it up sometimes, because even I can get bored doing the same thing over and over.  On Monday I tried something new and the results turned out well, so I thought I would share what I did.

First I used my own basic bread recipe and let it go through it’s first rise.  When it was time to punch down the dough, I divided it into 3 parts on a flour dusted counter.

One part of dough divided ready to roll out.

I rolled it out fairly thin but didn’t go wider then my bread pan.

Dough rolled out no wider then the bread pan.

Next, I added a filler to each loaf.

Dough with garlic butter.

Dough with cinnamon.

Dough with oatmeal.

Next step is fairly easy, just roll the dough up.

And place in your bread pan, seam side down. Add additional toppings if you prefer.

Let rise again.

Bake.

Enjoy.

One thing we did notice on the garlic bread.  Due to the butter content in the spread, the rolled part didn’t stick together as it was rising.  While this would be a problem for a sandwich bread, we enjoyed unrolling it while eating it.  The other breads did not separate.

6 responses

    • Next time, I will do it without the butter as well. I think it will work just fine. Using whole wheat bread tends to make a denser bread, but I am finding that rolling it up like this, it seems so much lighter and fluffier.

  1. Kim, have you ever posted the recipe for the basic bread dough?
    I do the same thing with an old Italian bread recipe that I got years ago but I add mozz. cheese and pepperoni. My neighbor does this too but with chopped broccoli, garlic and cheese. Yummm.

Leave a Reply

