Reading In The New Year

My amazing son wanted to get me a Kindle  for the holidays.  It really was out of his budget but he was willing to spend all his own gift money to get it for me.  My awesome hubby struck a deal with him, and they split the cost to buy me one.  Now, honestly, I’ve had the kindle app on my iPad for quite awhile now and loved it, but was finding it difficult and bulky to carry that around in my bag for those times when you need a book while waiting at the doctors office, or car rides, or whatever.  I didn’t want the more expensive but very cool Kindle Fire .  So I just needed the basic model.  I didn’t mind that it didn’t have the 3G technology and has a few ads on the front rather then a different screen saver.  I am loving my new Kindle and have already read 2 books on it.

My husband and I share an account because he too has his own fancier Kindle with a keyboard.  We found that if we shared the account, we could share the books.  Admittedly, most of our books were free (at the time) downloads, we have bought quite a few as well.  As I was transferring things over to my new reader I was looking at our tastes in reading.

*Disclaimer* As I list these books, please know that I am not rating them or their content.  Some were free at the time and some were purchased.  Some were very good and some only needed a page or two read before we decided they weren’t for us.  I was just interested in our very vast differences yet our similarities as well.

(Just some of) His Kindle Content:

30 Minute Plan

Apocalypse Dawn (The Left Behind Apocalypse Series #1) (Left Behind Military)

A Mortal Terror: A Billy Boyle World War II Mystery (Billy Boyle World War II Mysteries)

Democracy in America, Volume I and II (Optimized for Kindle)

House of Dark Shadows (Dreamhouse Kings Series, Book 1)

A Life of General Robert E. Lee (Illustrated)

No More Victims

Star Wars: Lost Tribe of the Sith #1: Precipice

(Just some of) My Kindle Content:

1022 Evergreen Place (Cedar Cove)

Against All Odds (Heroes of Quantico Series, Book 1)

The Centurion’s Wife (Acts of Faith, Book 1)

Circle of Friends Cookbook – 25 Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipes

Divine

Pennsylvania Dutch Cooking

Redemption

(Just some of) Our Joint Kindle Content:

Danger in the Shadows (O’Malley)

ESV Study Bible

Last Light (Restoration)

Patriots: Surviving the Coming Collapse

Shattered: A Daughter’s Regret (Secrets)

The Tanach (Tanakh) or Jewish Bible (mobi)

However, no matter what you read or how you read it, I encourage you to just read, read, read.  Reading is so very important. Many years ago, as a teen, living in North Carolina, I used to teach adults how to read.  I remember the joy in their discovery as a whole new world opened for them. I also remember thinking that I couldn’t fathom not being able to read something as basic as a menu or knowing how to sign my own name.  As a home school mom for 8 years, I have seen my children’s eyes light up when they connected it all together and truly “got it”.  Reading opens a whole new world.  It also helps to keep us informed, prepared, and alert.  Don’t just listen to the news or books on tape (which are, admittedly, good for long distance drives across the country) but read books and explore new possibilities.  Start this new year off with a good book.

 

4 responses

  1. I got the Simple Touch (Plain Jane) Nook in November and love it. Like you I didn’t want all the bells and whistles as have all those on something else. Plus for me I can’t read on iPad or other computer color devices because it affects my migraines/eyes. I also read pdf teachings on mine too and I like that much better than the comptuer screen or printing them all out. What a generous gift from your son – shows what great parents you are! 🙂

Leave a Reply

