Talking with God

I used to have a standing appointment with God.  Every morning I’d stand in the kitchen and gaze out my little window towards the east and see the sun rise and talk with God and start my day.  In recent months, I’ve sort of forgotten about those appointments.  Instead I have kept the blinds closed until the sun was fully out.  I’ve put God in a box to take out whenever I wanted to “play” with Him.  I’ve pulled Him out when it was convenient for me.  I’ve gotten lax in my prayers and my appointments with God.  He gently reminded me of that last week.  He called my name and asked me if I would meet him for coffee this morning and watch the sunrise with him.  I almost forgot what it was like to sip on a warm cup of coffee and just listen to God speak through the beauty of His creation.

(picture taken this morning using low level light setting)

Seeing the streaks of sun coming through the trees was such a sight to behold.  Even though it was 38 degrees outside, I opened the sliding glass door and listened to the sounds waking up around me.  Birds chirping, squirrels running around chattering to each other, ducks quacking on the lake below the tree line.  What a great way to start the day.

Thank you, God, for always having time to visit with me.  Thank you for reminding me that you made it all.  Thank you for loving me enough to remind me that you are still there.

One response

Leave a Reply

