Soup Of The Week – Week 2

I am a little late posting our week 2 soup.  This week was full of soup challenges.  We were going to make steak soup, but that didn’t happen.  I made a batch of squash soup and let me say, that was a huge fail!  Three of out of the four people who took a taste said no way where they going to eat it.  I was one of those people. The fourth, I think would have choked it down, but just to spare my feelings. Total failure.

Thankfully, Cary, over at Serenity Farms came to my rescue this week.  She has taken up the soup challenge and made this squash soup recipe and posted it.  Whew….she saved my squash soup attempt.  I didn’t follow her recipe to the letter, but used it as a guide and we really liked it.

Ingredients Used:

Large butternut squash

3 medium potatoes (skins left on)

1 large onion

2 celery stalks (I used celery I had dehydrated earlier this summer)

1 cup apple juice (also canned earlier this summer)

6 cups water

2 cups milk

2 tbsp butter

salt and pepper to taste

 

Melt butter in pot and add diced onions.  Cook until translucent.  Add cubed squash (after peeling and seeding) and carmalize.

Add potatoes and celery and cook just a bit to brown the potatoes.

Then add apple juice and water, stir well and let cook for several hours.

Use stick blender and blend well to a creamy consistency.

Add milk, salt, and pepper and cook a bit more.

Serve with a bit of home made farmers cheese (or store bought if you wish…sigh…lol) and a toasted cheese sandwich made on home made bread and you’ve got a winner dinner.

2 responses

Leave a Reply

