Something Strange Happened

Yesterday while ladling my sauce into a jar, I heard a cracking sound.  I looked at the jar and saw no visible sign of stress, so I went on my merry way.  As I finished the jar and lifted it to put in the canner rack, the bottom literally fell out.  I lifted the jar and the bottom as well as a quart of sauce was all over the counter, the cabinet, and the floor.  A near perfect circle of a crack on the jar bottom.  WOW.  After a quick clean up, we inspected the jar and were amazed at how clean the break was (sorry no picture…there was still a shock factor since I’d never had that happen before).  So, all in all, I ended up with just 10 quarts of sauce to show off today.  One went straight into the frig for dinner this week.

I did get a chance to sit at my knitting machine yesterday as well.  I was able to knit up this hat using some handspun yarn I had in my stash.

I love the little flower that hangs down the back.

Leave a Reply

