An Apple A Day

I finished with my sale apples yesterday.  With my 10 pounds of apples, we ended up with 5 pints of applesauce canned with more in the refrigerator, 5 pints of apples for apple pie, and 4 trays of dehydrated apple slices.  Woo hoo.  Not bad for a few hours of my time and about $6.00.

I often use apple sauce in my cake, muffin, and quick bread recipes in the place of cooking oil.  I use it measure for measure (meaning if the recipe calls for a cup of oil, then I use a cup of applesauce).  It makes for a moister final product in my no so humble opinion.  Healthier too.  Sadly, I went back to the store today and apples were no longer on sale so there will be no more apple goings on tomorrow….but mushrooms and onions…well that’s another story.

Leave a Reply

