Canning Salsa and Cheese

I canned two small batches of salsa and cheese yesterday.  I really didn’t want to drag out the big water bath canner.  Did you know you can use a regular stock pot as long as it has a tight fitting lid?  You need to come up with a raised bed (so to speak) to keep the jars off the bottom of the pot, so I tied together some jar lids using wire twist ties.

I put enough water in the canner to bring the water over the top of the jars, put it on to boil, and canned the salsa as I usually do.

Then I tried something new to me.  I read that you can can cheese.  So, we decided to give it a whirl and see how it does.  Two pounds of cheddar cheese yielded 5 – 8 ounce jars.  I first melted the cheese then processed for 40 minutes in a boiling water bath.

That hand woven dish towel is pretty nifty too, ain’t it?

Today I will be working on applesauce.  Apples were on sale yesterday and I bought 10 pounds (looking back, I should have gotten more) so I will be peeling and coring, cooking and canning them today.

Leave a Reply

